Change of Power at City Hall

By Pilar Arias and Bill O’Neil

The change of power at San Antonio’s City Hall is complete.

City Council has canvassed the results of the un-off election, officially putting Ron Nirenberg in the Mayor’s seat, while allowing the newly-elected William “Cruz” Shaw, Greg Brockhouse, Manny Palaez, John Courage and Clayton Perry to take their respective Council seats.

“The names on the plates change… people come in and out of this building… but the City of San Antonio goes on” Nirenberg said, adding “For the brief moment in time that we have the privilege of serving you it is an honor.”

The new Mayor also paid tribute to his predecessor Ivy Taylor, as well as outgoing Council Members Alan Warrick, Ray Lopez, Joe Krier and Mike Gallagher.

“Your dedication to this City… your passion for the work that you do can be unquestioned–and we all know we stand on the shoulders of those who come before us” Nirenberg said.

Former Mayor Ivy Taylor also took the opportunity to say a goodbye.

“I just really feel grateful” Taylor said, imploring the new Council to continue to work o0n those issues that are so close to her heart.

“My charge to you is to continue that work.. to insure that every San Antonian–no matter where they live–are connected to opportunities for prosperity” Taylor said.

“This is a house of honor, and so it is for us to insure that we admire the legacies of those people who stepped up to serve” Nirenberg said, voicing his readiness to get to work.

‘”The work is not for the faint of heart. Sometimes it’s very difficult… sometimes we don’t always land on the same place” Nirenberg said.


Tripwire May Have Triggered 4th Austin Blast San Antonio man calls 911, says he killed girlfriend and child Performers from Canada and Hawaii at Folk Dance Festival Woman Climbs Over Median, Gets Hit by Truck Gas Leak Forces Closure Of Northeast Side Street Missing San Antonio children, subjects of AMBER Alert, found safe