New Mayor and Council Set to be Sworn In

By Pilar Arias

Wednesday is the day San Antonio’s newly-elected mayor and six council members will be sworn into office during a public inauguration.

The ceremony will take place at 6:30 p.m. at the Arneson River Theatre.

Complimentary parking is available beginning at 5:30 p.m. in the CPS Energy garage located at 146 Navarro Street. In the likelihood seating reaches capacity, an air-conditioned overflow room with the televised inauguration will be available in the La Villita Assembly Hall at 401 Villita Street.

District 8 city council elect Manny Pelaez believes he’s as prepared as he can be to serve.

“San Antonio has a habit of throwing surprises at city council every once in a while but we have all the resources available to us to tackle anything San Antonio throws our way,” Pelaez said. He’s already identified traffic as the number one issue he wants to tackle.

The newly sworn in will have their first city council meeting Thursday.



Sheriff’s office looking for possible child predator in San Antonio Judson ISD to confirm new superintendent San Antonio to host 2025 NCAA Final Four San Antonio Water Project Gets Underway Spurs Announce Preseason Schedule NAACP convention strives to “defeat hate,” energize voters