3 voting site closures in Bexar County blamed on COVID-19

SAN ANTONIO (KTSA News) – Three vote centers in Bexar County are closed for the Joint Primary Runoff Election Tuesday.   Three election teams notified Bexar County Elections Administrator Jacque Callanen Monday afternoon that they would not serve because of the COVID-19 virus.

“Please keep in mind that the average judge’s age is 72, so we certainly understand their concerns,” said Callanen.

The notification came after the list of 217 voting sites had been published.  Now there are 214 vote centers. The three  locations that will not be open Tuesday are Cameron Elementary on Belgium Lane in San Antonio’s East Side, Storm Elementary on Brady Boulevard in the Southwest Side, and Corbett  Junior High School in Schertz.   Signs posted at those locations will direct voters to to the nearest operational voting sites.

“Through the challenges of COVID 19, we have had some wonderful civic minded election teams step up to serve our County voters.  We are proud of their courage during this very difficult time.”

While voters are not required to wear masks, Callanen encourages you to do so.

“One of the best things our wonderful voters in Bexar County can do is to wear a mask when they cast their ballot, as well as socially distance.  We understand that although the masks are not mandatory to vote, it would be a way of showing respect for our judges and election personnel.”

The polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 pm Tuesday.   One of the hotter races on the Democratic ballot is the contest between State Senator Royce West and military veteran MJ Hegar, who are vying for the chance to challenge U.S. Senator John Cornyn in November.

The winner between  Republicans Tony Gonzales and Raul Reyes will take on Democrat Gina Ortiz Jones in the race for the 23rd congressional seat being vacated by Will Hurd.

State Rep. Roland Gutierrez and Xochil Peña Rodriguez are seeking the Democratic nomination for the District 19 State Senate seat currently held by Republican Pete Flores.

There are a couple of Bexar County Commissioners races being contested.  On the Republican side, Trish DeBerry is facing Tom  Rickoff for the Precinct 3 nomination.  The winner will take on Democrat Christine Hortick in the fall in the race to replace Commissioner Kevin Wolff.

In precinct 1, Chico Rodriguez is in a Democratic runoff against Rebecca Clay-Flores.  The winner will face Republican Gabriel Lara in November.

There also are runoffs for the chairs in both parties.  Monica Alcantara is facing challenger Grace Rose Gonzales in the race for the Bexar County Democratic Party Chair, while  Cynthia Brehm, chair of the Republican Party of Bexar County, is being challenged by John Austin.

If you voted in the March Primary, you’ll have  to vote in the same party for the runoff.  If you did not vote in March, you can select either a Republican or Democratic ballot.

You can visit the Bexar County Elections website or call 210-335 VOTE  for more information.



More about: