Weather Alert

San Antonio City Council members to be sworn in today

SAN ANTONIO (KTSA News) – It’s inauguration day for Mayor Ron Nirenberg and ten city council members.

The group to be sworn in during an official ceremony Wednesday afternoon includes three new council members who recently won runoff elections –Jada Andrews-Sullivan in District 2, which covers the East Side, Adriana Rocha Garcia in District 4 in the city’s Southwest Side, and Melissa Cabello Havrda in District 6, which covers the West-Northwest.

Andrews-Sullivan is replacing Art Hall, who was appointed on a temporary basis after William Cruz Shaw stepped down to become a judge. Garcia succeeds Rey SaldaƱa, who was forced out by term limits. Havrda will replace Greg Brockhouse, who made an unsuccessful run for mayor.

In addition to Nirenberg, returning council members are Roberto Trevino, Rebecca Viagran, Shirley Gonzales, Ana Sandoval, Manny Pelaez, John Courage and Clayton Perry. The women on the new city council outnumber the men 6 to 5.

A city council meeting is scheduled at 2 PM for canvassing of the votes in the runoff election. Plaques will be presented to outgoing council members.

A special blessing and interfaith service will follow at 3 pm and the inauguration ceremony will begin at 5:30 in the Norma Rodriguez City Council Chambers.

Connect With Us Listen To Us On