SAN ANTONIO (KTSA News) — It’s inauguration day in the city of San Antonio.

The ceremony this evening will include the swearing-in of Mayor Ron Nirenberg and the city council.

Newly elected council members Mario Bravo in District 1, Jalen McKee-Rodriguez in District 2, Phyllis Viagran in District 3, and Teri Castillo in District 5 claimed victory in the June 5 run-off election. District 9 Councilman John Courage was the only incumbent to be re-elected in the run-off.

Councilmembers Adriana Garcia in District 4, Melissa Havrda in District 6, Ana Sandoval in District 7, Manny Pelaez in District 8 and Clayton Perry in District 10 were re-elected in during the general election held on May 1.

A special city council meeting took place at 10 a.m. for canvassing the results and a presentation of appreciation plaques to outgoing Councilmembers Roberto Treviño, Jada Andrews-Sullivan, Rebecca Viagran, and Shirley Gonzales.

An interfaith ceremony will happen at 3 p.m. and the inauguration ceremony will begin at 6 p.m. at the Norma Rodriguez City Council Chambers.

More about: