San Antonio City Councilman could step down to run for Bexar County Commissioner

SAN ANTONIO (KTSA News) – San Antonio City Councilman Clayton Perry could be close to announcing  that he’s entering the race for Bexar County Commissioner Precinct 3.

A source tells KTSA News that Perry will announce his decision at Thursday’s city council meeting, but the Northeast Side councilman wouldn’t confirm that Wednesday morning.

“It’s very, very difficult to make a decision like this because I’m elected to District 10 and that is my priority,” he said.

If he decides to run, he’ll have to give up his council seat when he makes his official announcement.

“I love District 10, ” said Perry. “However, this other job at the County is out there, and that’s something that I’m taking a hard look at, and I’m considering it, at this point.”

Perry, a retired Air Force civil engineer and a fiscal conservative, would be entering the race to replace Commissioner Kevin Wolff, who has announced he will not seek re-election next year. Wolff is the lone Republican on the five-member Bexar County Commissioners Court.

Perry would be facing several opponents in the Republican Primary, including Trish DeBerry, President and CEO of the DeBerry Group. The former TV journalist ran for mayor in 2009 , but she came in second to Julian Castro.

Weston Martinez, a former Texas Real Estate Commissioner, also has announced his intentions to run. Other possible Republican candidates for County Commissioner Precinct 3 include former Judge Celeste Brown, former judge Genie Wright, real estate developer Mitch Meyer and marketing coordinator Ellen Pfeiffer.

Likely candidates in the Democratic primary are attorney Christine M. Hortick, Ismael Reyes, General Manager at Clear Crescent Communications Ismael Reyes, Sarah M. Sepeda-Garcia, a former facilities manager at the  San Antonio Area Foundation, and Alfonso Perez.

Filing begins Saturday, November 9, and continues through December 9.

More about: