San Antonio one of 8 cities to get an XFL team

SAN ANTONIO (KTSA News) — Could the third time be a charm for the XFL?

Football fans will find out next year when the latest version of the spring football league kicks off.

The league has failed twice before but now there is a new team of owners, including actor and pro-wrestler Dwayne Johnson.

Over the weekend, the XFL announced that 8 cities will host teams in 2023, including three in Texas.

San Antonio, Houston and Arlington will be the home for three of the teams along with Washington D.C. Seattle, St. Louis and Las Vegas.

The San Antonio team will play their home games at The Alamodome and will be coached by Pittsburgh Steelers Hall of Famer Hines Ward.

The XFL announced which cities are getting teams at a town hall meeting in Arlington over the weekend but team names haven’t been released.

More about: