SAN ANTONIO (KTSA News) — A singer/songwriter with local roots is getting a big honor next year.

Steve Earle, known for his hits songs “Guitar Town”, “Copperhead Road” and “Goodbye’s All We Got Left” has been elected to the Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame.

Earle was born in Virginia but his family moved to Schertz when he was toddler and lived in the area for many years.

He’s dropped the names of area towns in some of his songs. A speed trap in Selma, a girl from San Antonio and a guy named Billy Austin.

Earle first moved to Nashville in 1974 but it took a few years and a return to Texas before he found success as a songwriter.

Johnny Cash, Waylon Jennings, Willie Nelson, Vince Gill and Bob Seger are among the many who have recorded songs written by Earle.

He recorded several albums on his own including his 1986 breakout “Guitar Town” followed by “Exit 0” and “Copperhead Road”.

Earle has also won three Grammy Awards.

He will be inducted in the Hall along with Bobbie Gentry “Ode to Billy Joe” and “Fancy” , Brett James “Jesus Take the Wheel and “When the Sun Goes Down”, Kent Blazy “If Tomorrow Never Comes” and “Ain’t Goin’ Down ‘Til the Sun Comes Up” and Spooner Oldham “I’m Your Puppet” and “Cry Like A Baby”.

The induction ceremony will take place in November of next year.


More about: