SAN ANTONIO (KTSA News) – Air Force veteran MJ Hegar has defeated State Sen. Royce West in the Democratic Primary runoff for the U.S. Senate.  Hegar will take on Republican Senator John Cornyn in November.

We’re still not sure who will face Democrat Gina Ortiz Jones in the race to replace Congressman Will Hurd, who decided not to seek reelection. The runoff between Republicans Tony Gonzales and Raul Reyes is too close to call.   Gonzales was endorsed by President Trump and Reyes got the nod from Senator Ted Cruz.

Republican Mauro Garza will oppose Congressman Joaquin Castro in November after winning a tight race Tuesday night.

Roland Gutierrez who gave up his seat in the Texas House of Representatives to run for the State Senate has won the Democratic runoff against Xochil Peña Rodriguez.  Gutierrez will run against Republican State Senator Pete Flores.

Liz Campos won the Democratic nomination for  State Rep. District 119.

Cynthia Brehm was ousted as chair of the Republican Party of Bexar County by John Austin, and the Bexar County Democratic Party Chair, Monica Alcantara, managed to fight off her challenger.

Rebecca “Becky” Clay-Flores upset Precinct 1 Bexar County Commissioner Chico Rodriguez in the Democratic Primary runoff.  She’ll face Gabriel Lara in November.

Republican businesswoman Trish DeBerry defeated Tom Rickhoff  in the runoff for County Commissioner Precinct 3.  That’s the seat being vacated by Kevin Wolff , the lone Republican on Commissioners Court and son of Democratic County Judge Nelson Wolff.  DeBerry will take on Democrat Christine Hortick in the fall.

Constable Precinct 2 Leticia Vasquez will face Republican Charlie Pena in November after winning the Democratic nomination Tuesday.  Kathryn Brown is getting ready to go against Republican Larry Ricketts in the contest for Bexar County Constable Precinct 4.



More about: