SAN ANTONIO (KTSA News) – Embattled Precinct 2 Constable Michelle Barrientes Vela gets to hold on to her job, at least until next week. A judge has ruled that Vela cannot be ousted pending a hearing on a Temporary Injunction Friday, October 11.

However, Bexar County Commissioners are moving forward with the selection of her replacement.

“This restraining order does not preclude Commissioners Court from moving forward on selecting candidates for potential interviews,” County spokeswoman Monica Ramos told KTSA News.

Twenty-nine area residents have submitted applications, including former Bexar County Sheriff Amadeo Ortiz.

The candidates will be vetted by staff members and may be disqualified for reasons including, but not limited to, not currently living in Precinct 2, convicted of a felony, or cannot secure a Texas Peace Officer license. Commissioners will review the applications Tuesday and narrow down the list.   A  finalist will be selected Wednesday, but the appointee will have to wait until October 11 to find out whether he or she will be able to take over the Precinct 2 Constable’s office.

“We have received quite a number of qualified applicants for the interim position. I look forward to reviewing the applications and filling this position in the coming days,” said Bexar County Judge Nelson Wolff said Monday afternoon.

The Bexar County District Attorney maintains that Vela triggered her own resignation when she told reporters last week as the FBI and Texas Rangers raided her office that she was running for sheriff.  The D.A. cited the resign-to-run provision in the Texas Constitution.

Now Vela says her statement about running for the sheriff’s office was merely an “excited utterance,” not a formal campaign announcement.

Here’s the list of candidates vying for Vela’s position:

Jose L. Bañales
Nathaniel Buchanan
Melissa Aryn Campbell
Charles A. Campbell
Rudy Dominguez
James C. Dorsey
Donald Falcon
Val Flores
Javier Flores
Lydia C. Garcia
Rudolph A. Gonzalez
Victorio Rolando Guedea
Hilario R. Gutierrez
Tony Lee Jones
Cecil Burton Jones, Jr.
Michael V. King
Michael Lacey
Ian S. Lovestock
Reynaldo V. Lujan
Justino Monarez
John Muirhead
Amadeo A. Ortiz
Edwardo Flores Prado II
Mary Ruiz
John Michael Seda
Milton Smith
Alex R. Torres
Leticia R. Vasquez
Debra L. Zerda

More about: